SIMPLE ANSWERS TO OUR FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Please scroll down for fine amounts and options
HOW LONG DO I HAVE TO PAY THE CITATION? You have 12 days from the DATE of your citation. Funds are to be paid by 5pm on the 12th day.
WHEN DO I NEED TO CALL THE JUDGE? 1) To discuss a dispute. 2)To make payment arrangements. 3)To sit your citation out in jail. 3) Questions regarding the citation in general. Judge McKay handles all these matters.
WHEN DO I NOT NEED TO CALL THE JUDGE? The judge does not handle any matters regarding complaints about a police officers, that is a police department matter.
WHAT IS DEFERRED DISPOSITION? This is an option to pay a flat rate and be on probation 90 days from the date of your citation. The citation will not show on your driving record unless you get another citation within the 90 day probation period. This tends to be the more popular choice. The fee is a flat fee which means you do not pay the ticket, you do not take a driver's safety class. Currently the fee is $230 or at the judge's discretion due to rate of speed. Contact Judge McKay if you are CDL license holder.
HOW DO I KNOW IF I CAN HAVE DEFERRED DISPOSITION OR DEFENSIVE DRIVING? The State of Texas will not allow an individual to have more than one each defensive driving per year nor if the individual has a CDL license.
I WANT TO TAKE DEFENSIVE DRIVING; DOES THE FEE I PAID THE COURT COVER MY CLASS? No. You are responsible for finding and paying for the class as well as the fee from TxDPS to obtain your driving record.
I TOOK DEFENSIVE DRIVING AND MY CERTIFICATE/DRIVING RECORD HAS NOT ARRIVED AND MY 90 DAYS ARE UP, WHAT DO I DO? Send a copy of the receipt you received at the time you took the class. This may be faxed as well. You may also call Judge McKay to let him know the status of your course.
WHERE DO I FIND A DEFENSIVE DRIVING CLASS? Many take the class via the Internet. You can rent videos. You may find a class in the yellow page listings, as well.
I LIVE IN ANOTHER AREA OF THE STATE, DO I HAVE TO COME BACK TO TAHOKA FOR A DEFENSIVE DRIVING CLASS? No. Only Texas residents may take the class, therefore any class taught in the State of Texas is accepted.
WHAT ARE MY PAYMENT OPTIONS IF THE COURT DOES NOT TAKE PERSONAL CHECKS? We accept Visa/MasterCard debit and credit cards during Municipal Court regular office hours.
IS A PAYMENT PLAN AVAILABLE? WHOM DO I CONTACT TO INQUIRE OF A PAYMENT PLAN?
Judge McKay is the only one that authorizes payment plans.
*Do not make a partial payment online unless you have spoken with Judge McKay first. If you choose to pay online, please include your citation or driver's license number. Please note whether you are paying for deferred adjudication or defensive driving.